Bachman Wins Ames Straw Poll By Less Than 200 Votes Over Ron Paul

In the first real contest among Republican candidates, Minnesota Congressman Michelle Bachmann won the fabled Ames Straw Poll, gaining 4,823 votes. Ron Paul placed in second with 4,671 votes, while former Minnesota Governor Tim Pawlenty finished in third with 2,293 votes.

© © Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

The rest of the results were as follows: Rick Santorum (1,657); Herman Cain (1,456); Mitt Romney (567); Newt Gingrich (385), Jon Huntsman (69); and Thaddeus McCotter (35).

It should be noted that Texas Governor Rick Perry, the new entrant into the the Republican race, collected 718 write-in votes.



Leave a Reply